IAME Euro Series: Champions crowned at the Home of Champions!

Published on Wednesday, August 30, 2023

IAME Euro Series: Champions crowned at the Home of Champions!

Known for historically providing unpredictable weather and great racing, once again the “Home of Champions” karting track of Genk did not disappoint. With almost 200 of the best IAME teams and drivers taking the challenge in the three categories, it was once again demonstrated that the series is rightfully renowned for its high level of participants.


X30 Mini
In the X30 Mini category, Mateo Rivals had the first say as he qualified first ahead of Dan Allemann (Spirit-Racing.ch) and Maxim Bobreshov (George Gibbons Motorsport). While Rivals suffered from a bad first qualifying heat, and dropped down to 16th, Bobreshov and Allemann took the first and second place in the Qualifying Heats classification, with championship hopefully Jesse Phillips (Fusion Motorsport) slotting just behind. It was one of the same for the Superheats as, by winning their respective races, both leaders stayed in the same points, which applied to Phillips with a second place just behind and Gilles Herman (VDK Racing) who completed the second row of the grid for the final. An intense final race saw Bobreshov prevail for the win, with Phillips taking the second place, and Daniel Miron Lorente (Fusion Motorsport) completing the podium.

X30 Junior
Cathal Clark (VictoryLane Karting) was the one to set the benchmark in X30 Junior, ahead of Thibaut Ramaekers (VDK Racing) and Jenson Graham (Fusion Motorsport). After a day of intense qualifying heats the classification was turned upside down, with Sacha Van’t Pad Bosch (RSD Karting) topping the points, followed by Sebastian Minns (VDK Racing) and Harrison Mackie (Fusion Motorsport). Mackie and Clark won a Superheat each, jumping ahead of Van’t Pad Bosch to take the front line, as the Dutchman settled for third, with Minns slotting on the other side of the second row. The race leaders put on a great show in their fight for the lead, with Harry Bartle (Croc Promotion) making an impressive overtaking move on Mackie and took the checkered flag first. Unfortunately however he was deemed to have gone a bit too far, crossing the track limits on this move and was demoted to 5th after a 5-second penalty. In turn Mackie also received a 5-second penalty for being in an incorrect position at the start, dropping down to 8th. These two penalties gave the win to Sacha Van’t Pad Bosch, with Thibaut Ramaekers and Cathal Clark in second and third.

X30 Senior
X30 Senior was once again the largest category, and with the most experienced drivers on the grid, it didn’t disappoint. Elie Goldstein (TBKart Racing Team) was fastest of all, followed by his teammate Edoardo Ludovico Villa (TBKart Racing Team) and Sam Balota (VDK Racing). After a total of 15 qualifying heats, Goldstein remained undefeated, with Ean Eyckmans (EGP Racing) second and Villa in third and Fionn Mac Laughlin (VDK Racing) in fourth. These positions stayed unchanged after the Super Heats setting the front two rows for the final. After big battles at the front, it was Mac Laughlin who took the lead, while Eyckmans and Goldstein crashed. That left Mac Laughlin free to open up an 11 second gap at the front and take the win, as the rest of the field was packed up behind second finisher Henkie Kalteren (RSD Karting) and third Villa who completed the podium.

This race concluded this year’s Euro Series, with the championship trophies handed out during the podium ceremony, and each of the top-3 in each class receiving a ticket for the IAME IWF:

Final Championship Classification

X30 Mini
1- Jesse Phillips (GBR) 88 Points
2- Archie Lovatt (GBR) 67 Points
3- Dan Alleman (CHE) 66 Points
4- Maxim Bobreshov (ARE) 51 Points
5- Daniel Miron Lorente (ESP) 48 Points

Jesse Phillips

X30 Junior
1- Freddie Lloyd (GBR) 88 Points
2- Cathal Clark (GBR) 64 Points
3- Rocco Coronel (NLD) 59 Points
4- Sacha Van’t Pad Bosch (NLD) 50 Points
5- Harry Bartle (GBR) 49 Points

Freddie Lloyd

X30 Senior
1- Khali Atkins (GBR) 74 Points
2- Edoardo Ludovico Villa (ITA) 68 Points
3- Ruben Moya (ESP) 67 Points
4- Fionn Maclaughlin (IRL) 62 Points
5- Sam Shaw (GBR) 52 Points

Khali Atkins

See you at Portimao for IWF23!

As the great racing that took place at Karting Genk closes the curtain for this year’s Euro Series, we’re now turning our attention to the IAME IWF that will take place at Portimao at the end of October, this year organized and promoted by RGMMC.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (343)