All drivers back on track in Adria for Round 2 of WSK Open Cup

Published on Friday, November 27, 2020

All drivers back on track in Adria for Round 2 of WSK Open Cup

All the drivers of WSK Open Cup made it onto the track in Adria for day one of Round 2 of the series that will close the WSK 2020 season. Four categories are on track, namely KZ2, OK, OK-Junior and MINI for this event that started on Wednesday with qualifying practice and continued on Thursday with heats of Round 1 and on Friday with heats of Round 2. The final stages will begin on Saturday after the closing heats of Round 2 with the Prefinals of Round 1 and Round 2, while the double Finals on Sunday.


The provisional leaders of Round 1.

The heats valid for Round 1 took place on Thursday and the Dutch Stan Pex (KR Motorsport/KR-TM Racing-Vega) topped the charts in KZ2, the Russian Andrey Zhivnov (Team Komarov/Tony Kart-TM Racing-Bridgestone) in OK, the Brit Arvid Lindblad (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-Vega) in OK-Junior and the Dutch René Lammers (Baby Race/Parolin-Iame-Vega) in MINI.


The heat-winners of Round 2 of the WSK Open Cup.

The drivers that posted the pole position time on Wednesday, namely the Dutch Stan Pex (KR Motorsport/KR-TM Racing-Vega) in KZ2, the Brit Taylor Barnard (Rosberg Racing Academy/KR-Iame-Bridgestone) again in OK, the Dane Tobias Clausen (Ricky Flinn/Kosmic-Vortex-Vega) in OKJ and the Pole Maciej Gladysz (Parolin Racing Kart/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) in MINI were the favourite for Round 2.

KZ2. The Dutch driver Stan Pex (KR Motorsport/KR-TM Racing) put in an excellent performance in KZ2 winning the first heat, as did the Swede Viktor Gustafsson (Leclerc by Lennox/BirelART-TM Racing), who won the second. Pex got the lead back in the third and crossed the finish line ahead of a great Leonardo Marseglia (BirelART-TM Racing), while Gustafsson was third. Among the front runners, Pex’s teammate Danilo Albanese (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame) also showed a good pace.    

KZ2 provisional classification after heats: 1. Pex; 2. Gustafsson; 3. Albanese; 4. Marseglia; 5. Valtanen; 6. Leuillet; 7. Van Walstijn; 8. Vycheslav.

OK. The British driver Taylor Barnard (Rosberg Racing Academy/KR-Iame) dominated the three heats of OK. The Bulgarian Nikola Tsolov (DKP Racing/KR-Iame), the Swede Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing/Tony Kart-Vortex), Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex), the French Marcus Amand (VDK Racing/KR-Iame) and the Italians Lorenzo Travisanutto (Parolin Racing Kart/Parolin-TM Racing) and the rookie Alfio Andrea Spina (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) also displayed a great shape.

OK provisional classification after heats: 1. Barnard; 2. Tsolov; 3. Andreasson; 4. Taponen; 5. Travisanutto; 6. Amand; 7. Pirttilahti; 8. Zhivnov.

OKJ.  Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (BirelART Racing/RK-TM Racing) and the Brit Arvid Lindblad (KR Motorsport/KR.Iame) claimed two wins each, but the provisional classification is led by Lindblad and by the American Ugo Ugochukwu (Sauber Karting/KR-Iame), who claimed one win and the best overall placings.

OKJ  provisional classification after heats: 1. Ugochukwu; 1. Lindblad; 3. Pasiewicz; 4. Scognamiglio; 4. Kucharczyk; 4. Slater; 4. Keeble; 8. Marenghi.

MINI. The Russian Gerasim Skulanov (Formula K Serafini/IPK-TM Racing) won two heats of MINI, as he recovered from the incident he had on Thursday. One win was taken by the Dutch René Lammers (Baby Race/Parolin-Iame), the Peruvian Andreas Cardenas (Energy Corse/Energy-TM Racing), the Pole Maciej Gladysz (Parolin Racing Kart/Parolin-TM Racing), the Slovenian Aleksandar Bogunovic (Gamoto/Tony Kart-TM Racing), the Asian Tiziano Monza (Sauber Karting/KR-Iame) and Salim Hanna Hernandez (Energy Corse/Energy-TM Racing). Gladysz and Skulanov share the provisional lead.

MINI  provisional classification after heats: 1. Gladysz; 1. Skulanov; 3. Lammers; 4. Hanna; 5. Nakamura; 6. Costoya; 6. Kastelic; 8. Apicella.

The program will continue on Saturday, November 28th with the closing heats of Round 2 that will be followed by the Prefinals of Round 1 and Round 2. The much awaited Finals will name the winners of the WSK Open Cup 2020 on Sunday, November 29th.


The program of the racing weekend in Adria:

Saturday: Warm-up, Heats Rd.2; Prefinals Rd.1, Prefinals Rd.2.

Sunday: Warm-up, Finals Rd.1 and Prize Ceremony, Finals Rd.2 and Prize Ceremony.


Rate this article:
Comments (0)Number of views (1639)