WSK Super Master Series rd. 3 - qualifying heats in Muro Leccese (I)

Published on Saturday, March 9, 2019

WSK Super Master Series rd. 3 - qualifying heats in Muro Leccese (I)

Some new names came to the fore in La Conca in hard-fought qualifying heats.

The qualifying stages to the final racing day in Muro Leccese (LE) that will name the winners of the third round of WSK Super Master Series, changed the initial situation that was defined in qualifying practice. Some new names came forward aiming to the win of this round of the International Karting Series that is eying its closing round, scheduled in Sarno (SA) in two weeks time. The hunt for points is open and the increasing scoring scheme will probably improve the title chances of a lot of drivers. Above, the start of one of the 60 Mini heats of today.

Juho Valtanen leading OK.
The Finn Juho Valtanen (Kosmic-Iame-Bridgestone, above) stayed put yesterday but won three heats today and managed to overtake the Scot Dexter Patterson (KR-Iame), who is second behind Valtanen thanks to two wins and a second place. Everything is still possible tomorrow though. Valtanen will start Prefinal A from the pole position and will have the British driver Taylor Barnard (KR-Iame) next to him, as the latter won one heat today. Patterson secured Prefinal B’s pole position and will have Pedro Hiltbrand (CRG-Iame) next to him, as the Spanish driver today defended himself well claiming several top 3 finishes. Classification leader Lorenzo Travisanutto (KR-Iame) had a tough day and will start Prefinal A from the 5th row of the grid.

Arvid Lindblad full score in OK Junior.
Quickest in qualifying practice, the British driver  Arvid Lindblad (Exprit-TM-Vega, above) won all the heats in OK Junior and claimed the pole position of Prefinal A, confirming in this way his motivation to climb the classification up. The Dutch driver Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart-Vortex) earned the right to start next to him thanks to two wins. Classification leader Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR-Iame) will start Prefinal B from the pole position thanks to three wins in the heats. Several good placings allowed the Russian Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-Vortex) to start from the second spot of Prefinal B’s starting grid.

Macintyre on top in 60 Mini.
The British driver Wiliam Macintyre (Parolin-TM-Vega, above) had a clear run winning 4 of the 5 heats and earned a pole position start in 60 Mini’s Prefinal A. Next to him, Jamaica’s Alex Powell (Energy-TM) secured a front row start thanks to two wins. The Belgian Ean Eyckmans will start Prefinal B from the pole position following one win and 5 second places. This haul allowed him to stay clear of the Pole Maciej Gladysz (both on Parolin-TM), who also claimed one win. Classification leader from United Arab Emirates Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin-TM) had a troubled day and his leadership is now endangered by Eyckmans and Powell.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (8154)