The final challenge of the WSK Open Series has kicked off

Published on Thursday, May 9, 2024

The final challenge of the WSK Open Series has kicked off

The second and decisive round of the WSK Open Series is underway at the International Circuit La Conca in Muro Leccese, with all the main protagonists from the MINI, OKNJ, OKN, KZ2 and KZ2 Masters categories competing to win the titles of the international series.

With this event, the WSK Open Series concludes its seventh edition, which began in 2018 and has become an essential event on the WSK Promotion calendar, featuring many champions and young talents now engaged in motorsport, starting with the Italian promise Andrea Kimi Antonelli, who won the WSK Open in OK-Junior in 2019.

After the first two days of testing, the qualifying sessions on Thursday kicked off the event, which will conclude with the final phase on Saturday, May 11th, to be followed via live TV streaming.


KZ2 - Vasile and Orlov ready to bounce back.

The two fastest times in the two qualifying sessions in KZ2 were set by two protagonists eager to redeem themselves from the first race in Franciacorta, Maksim Orlov (#52 Modena Kart/Parolin-TM Kart-LeCont) and Daniel Vasile (#2 BirelART Racing/BirelART-TM Kart), who posted the best time in their respective sessions, with Vasile from Romania being the fastest in the second session with a time of 45.793,s while Orlov clocked a 45.956s.

The championship leader, the Dutchman Senna Van Walstijn (#11 Sodikart/Sodi-TM Kart), managed the sixth session time in 46.103s. Among the fastest, the Italian Cristian Bertuca, second in the championship and Vasile's teammate, confirmed his speed with the second time in the first series in 46.030s, and the Frenchman Emilien Denner, Van Walstijn's teammate, achieved the second time in the second series in 45.942s. In KZ2 Masters, the dominator of the round in Franciacorta, Davide Forè (#102 GSR Team/BirelART-TM Kart) was penalyzed with and the best time was set by Alessio La Martina (#103 KR Motorsport/KR-Iame).


MINI Gr.3 Under 10 - Rea leads Perico.

In the Under 10 category, mainly the young Italian drivers stood out, and this time it was Achille Rea (#525 Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) who set the best performance in 52.473s, with a margin of 0.103s over the championship leader and winner of the previous race in Franciacorta, Niccolò Perico (#501 Energy Corse/Energy-TM Kart). Among the best, Antonio Ianni (#546 CRG Racing Team/TGroup-TM kart) also performed well, securing the third time at 0.175s. Fourth fastest was the Chinese driver Li Linghan (#574 Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) at 0.287s, ahead of his teammate, the German Tiberius Muller at 0.378s.    


MINI Gr.3 – A surprising Diaz De La Vega.

The Mexican driver Santiago Diaz De La Vega (#514 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega) secured the pole position in MINI Gr.3 with a time of 52.274s, which was 78 hundredths faster than Daniil Kutskov (#545 Team Driver/KR-Iame) and 81 ahead of Diaz's teammate, the Italian Julian Frasnelli, who confirmed his speed among the top contenders. Meanwhile, the other BabyRace driver and championship leader from America Alessandro Truchot, sat eleventh, trailing by 0.418s. Also among the fastest, the Polish driver Leonardo Gorski (#521 Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) was just 0.206s behind.    


OK-N - Pesl on the edge of the milliseconds.

In OK-N, the Czech driver Jindrich Pesl (#247 Monster K Factory/CRG-TM Kart-Vega) stood out with a pole position secured by just a thousandth of a second ahead of his teammate, the Italian Gino Rocchio, as a mere 24 thousandths was the difference between them. The third fastest time was set by another Italian, Federico Rossi (#203 PRK/Tony Kart-TM Kart), trailing by 0.147s, followed by Franciacorta winner Nicolas Marchesi (#204 Team Driver/KR-Iame) at 0.185s. Also notably fast was the Polish driver Karol Pasiewicz (#214 Novalux/Lenzokart-LKE), ranking fifth with a time difference of 0.203s.   


OK-N Junior – The classification leader Berezkin takes the pole.

The winner of the opener, Ilia Berezkin (#322 Monster K Factory Team) confirmed his speed on the Apulian circuit with the best time of 47.469s, but his main rivals are close behind, such as the Italian Valerio Viapiana (#326 Team Driver/KR-Iame) who stopped at 79 milliseconds and another Italian Pietro Bagutti (#313 Gamoto/Tony Kart-TM Kart) at 0.294s. The fourth and fifth fastest times were recorded by the two LA Motorsport drivers on Parolin-TM Kart, with Bruno Blanco at 0.295s and Qarrar Firhand at 0.335s.


The program will continue in the afternoon with the first heats concluding on Friday, and the final phase scheduled for Saturday.

The program of the WSK Open Series, Rd2 La Conca:
Friday, May 10th: Warm up from 8:45; Heats from 11:00.
Saturday, May 11th: Warm up from 8:45; Live TV and Streaming of Prefinals from 10:20, Finals from 13:05.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (230)