Switches on top of WSK Super Master Series classifications, after the 3rd round in Muro Leccese (I)

Published on Thursday, March 14, 2019

Switches on top of WSK Super Master Series classifications, after the 3rd round in Muro Leccese (I)

From La Conca to the closer in Sarno.
The racing weekend that took place in Muro Leccese (LE) has changed the shape of the WSK Super Master Series classifications and new drivers enjoyed their maiden win at the La Conca World Circuit (above, one of the Finals of last Sunday) putting their name forward in the title quest. The fourth and closing race of the Series organized by WSK Promotion is about to get underway in the weekend of March 21st – 24th in Sarno (SA).

Patterson new classification leader in OK.

Dexter Patterson (KR-Iame-Bridgestone, above) managed to overtake the Italian Lorenzo Travisanutto (KR-Iame) in the OK classification, even though the Scot could not claim a win in the Final at the end of what was a positive weekend. Gabriele Minì (Parolin-TM) had, in fact, the upper hand on Patterson in the Final, as the Italian kicked off the year strongly and claimed his maiden win in the category. Travisanutto could not get a very good result in La Conca instead, The three claimed one win each in the Finals run so far and the provisional standings see Patterson on top at 239 points, followed by Travisanutto at 201. Minì is fourth at 148, behind another strong driver, the British Taylor Barnard (KR-Iame) who did not secure a win in Prefinal nor in Final so far but stands third at 158 thanks to his regular pace. The Swede Dino Beganovic (Tony Kart-Vortex) is fifth at 129 points but had tough luck in La Conca.

Antonelli, on top in OK but with a lot of strong rivals.

Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR-Iame-Vega, above) confirms to be on top of OK Junior after the Final win in Muro Leccese but his challengers are strong and many. The podium at the La Conca World Circuit has seen the Italian joined by two of his strongest challengers: the Dutch Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart-Vortex) and the Russian Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-Vortex), that respectively were second and third in Muro Leccese and follow him on par in the classification at 154 points, while Antonelli is on top at 215. Another challenger to the win is the Brit Arvid Lindblad (Exprit-TM), who emerged in La Conca and placed himself in the fourth place of the classification at 130 points dominating heats and Prefinal before ending the Final in P4. The British Jamie Day (Exprit-Vortex) is also in the title fight, as he currently stands fifth at 111 points.

Eyckmans getting the lead of 60 Mini.

The Belgian driver Ian Eyckmans (Parolin-TM-Vega, above) kept his positive momentum in La Conca and has always been among the top 3, which allowed him to take the 60 Mini classification lead off United Arab Emirates’ Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin-TM), as the latter was out of the top ten in Muro Leccese. The gap on top is quite short, 227 points versus 189, and the Jamaican Alex Powell (Energy-TM) closed in on the leading duo at 185 points after claiming the win last Sunday. The British drivers Coskun Irfan and William Macintyre (both on Parolin-TM) have put in some strong races and follow in fourth and fifth place respectively at 129 and 113 points.

Bas Lammers heading to Sarno as the KZ2 leader.

KZ2 will run its second and closing round of WSK Super Master Series in Sarno. The opener of the series took place in Lonato (BS) on February 24th and the Dutch Bas Lammers (above) is currently leading the classification from his teammate Adrien Renaudin (both on Sodikart-TM-Bridgestone). The two respectively totalled 91 and 89 points, but the Dutch Marijn Kremers (BirelArt-TM), third at 67 points and the Italians Paolo De Conto (CRG-TM), fourth at 64, and Alex Irlando (BirelArt-TM), fifth at 45, are ready to challenge them for the lead in the closing race.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (7174)