Smal, Lindblad and Foteev are the early leaders of WSK Super Master Series after heats in Adria

Smal, Lindblad and Foteev are the early leaders of WSK Super Master Series after heats in Adria

Author: Bas Kaligis/Saturday, February 1, 2020/Categories: WSK

Rate this article:
No rating

The opener of WSK Super Master Series kicked off in Adria with 231 drivers coming from 40 countries. They showed a great level of competitiveness in a highly respected and professional stage on the international scene. In all the categories entitled in this event, namely OK, OK-Junior and Mini, a lot of new talents are striving to get under the spotlight in this series that enjoys the remarkable organization by WSK Promotion in its 15th year of activity. After qualifying practice and the first heats on Friday, heats continued on Saturday to define the initial classifications and name the contenders to the win after 30 qualifying races. The leaders at the end of the hard-fought heats are the Russian Kirill Smal in OK, the Brit Arvid Lindblad in OK-Junior and the Russian German Foteev in Mini.

Smal takes all the heats of OK.
In OK several drivers won the heats, which makes the category quite lively. The Russian Kirill Smal (Energy-TM Racing/Bridgestone/Energy Corse) claimed the full haul of 4 wins. Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR-Iame/KR Motorsport) came also the fore with one win, while teammate Enzo Trulli scored several good placings. The other winners were the Brits Joe Turney (Tony Kart-Vortex/Tony Kart Racing Team) and Talylor Barnard (KR-Iame/ Rosberg Racing Academy) that claimed two wins each. The WSK Champions Cup winner Harry Thompson (KR-Iame/Sauber Racing Academy) was also among the best and secured one win but was relegated to the back due to retirement. The pole-sitter Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-Vortex-Bridgestone/Ward) accused some delay instead.

OK classification after heats: 1. Smal; 2. Turney; 3. Trulli; 4. Antonelli; 5. De Haan.

Lindblad on top in OK-Junior.
In OK-Junior there are a lot of drivers that can aim to the win, starting from the Brit Arvid Lindblad (KR-Iame/KR Motorsport), who won three heats and leads the provisional classification from the Pole Karol Pasiewicz (Tony Kart-Vortex/Tony Kart Racing Team), who took one win. The Russian Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega/Ward) won three heats but slipped to the back due to a 12th place. The Pole Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (RK-TM Racing/BirelArt) won one heat as did the recent winner of the WSK Champions Cup Alfio Andrea Spina (KR-Iame/KR Motorsport). The Asian Christian Ho (KR-Iame/Sauber Karting Team) had a good day, as the American Ugo Ugochukwu (Kosmic-Vortex/Ricky Flynn). The poleman Brando Badoer (KR-Iame-Vega/KR Motorsport) and Cristian Bertuca (BirelArt-TM Racing/Birel Art), the latter recovering several places, secured several strong placings.

OK-Junior classification after heats: 1. Lindblad; 2. Pasiewicz; 3. Spina; 4. Kucharczyk; 5. Ho.

Mini led by foreigners: the three Russians Foteev, Khavalkin and Skulanov.
The challenge in Mini sees several foreign drivers battling for the top: the Russian German Foteev (Energy-TM Racing-Vega/Energy Corse) took one win today and is chased by fellow countrymen Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin-TM Racing/Parolin Racing Team) and Geramin Skulanov (IPK-TM Racing/Formula K), who also took one win. Three wins went to the Japanese Berta Kean Nakamura (KR-Iame/Team Driver). Poleman Dmitry Matveev (Energy-TM Racing/Energy Corse) won two heats, but is behind, as Luxembourg’s Guillaume Bouzar (Parolin-TM Racing/Parolin Racing Team) who also claimed two wins. Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin-TM Racing/Parolin Racing Kart) won one heat too.

Mini classification after heats: 1. Foteev; 2. Khavalkin; 3. Skulanov; 4. Przyrowsky; 5. Nakamura.


Number of views (211)/Comments (0)

Theme picker

Theme picker