Qualifying of WSK Super Master Series complete: the grand finale on Saturday and Sunday

Published on Friday, July 3, 2020

Qualifying of WSK Super Master Series complete: the grand finale on Saturday and Sunday

Qualifying heats of the fourth round of WSK Super Master Series ended at the Adria Karting Raceway with another series of good races that defined the protagonists of the final stages of this double round that will take place on Saturday, July 4th and Sunday, July 5th.

After 64 heats, the initial four intense racing days that involved 182 drivers for the third round of the series and 186 for the fourth round of the WSK Super Master Series ended. The titles of KZ2, OK, OKJ and MINI will be awarded on Sunday, July 5th.

Everyone chasing Palomba in KZ2. In KZ2 the Swede Viktor Gustafsson (Leclerc by Lennox Racing/BirelArt-TM Racing-Vega) won the first heat on Thursday and the first on Friday, but had to retire from the following heat due to a problem at the start. The classification of KZ2 sees therefore other names on top, like the Finn Paavo Tonteri (SC Performance/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega), his fellow-countryman Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega), the Italians Danilo Albanese of KR Motorsport on KR-Iame-Vega and Matteo Viganò of Team Leclerc by Lennox Racing on BirelArt-TM Racing-Vega. The current classification leader Giuseppe Palomba (BirelArt Racing/BirelArt-TM Racing-Vega) had to settle for two fourth places and a tenth, but kept the top of the charts.
KZ2 classification after heats: 1. Tonteri; 2. Puhakka; 3. Viganò; 4. Albanese; 5. De Marco; 6. Irlando; 7. Longhi; 8. Federer; 9. Camplese; 10. Palomba.

The Bedrin-Antonelli duel in OK. In OK the battles for the win involved mainly the Russian Nikita Bedrin (Ward Racing/Tony Kart-Vortex-Bridgestone), who won one race on Thursday and two on Friday, and the Italian Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-Bridgestone), who claimed one win on Thursday and one on Friday. One victory at the end of the day was also secured by the Brit Taylor Barnard (Rosberg Racing Academy/KR-Iame-Bridgestone). The favourites to the final win are the two Tony Kart’s drivers, namely classification leader Joe Turney and the Spanish driver Pedro Hiltbrand, as both recovered several places in the heats. Antonelli could nevertheless slide in among them thanks also to the increased scoring system used in the two closing rounds.
OK classification after heats: 1. Bedrin; 2. Antonelli; 3. Barbard; 4. Camara; 5. Hiltbrand; 6. Morgatto; 7. Ten Brinke; 8. Gray; 9. Day; 10. Cuman.

Lindblad strengthened his lead in OKJ. In OK-Junior, several drivers exchanged on top delivering a lot of spectacle and open races. Current classification leader Arvid Lindblad (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-Vega) confirmed his lead though, winning three heats overall. The American Ugo Ugochukwu (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-Vega) also won three heats.  The Pole Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (BirelArt Racing/RK-TM Racing-Vega) and the Brit Maxwell Dodds (Parolin Racing/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) also came to the fore in the heats on Friday, while on Thursday the other wins went to the Italians Alfio Andrea Spina (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-Vega) and his teammate Brando Badoer (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-Vega).
OKJ classification after heats: 1. Ugochukwu; 2. Lindblad; 3. Spina; 4. Badoer; 5. Pasiewicz; 6. Slater; 7. Keeble; 8. Irfan; 9. Dodds; 10. Kucharczyk.

Matveev challenging for the title in MINI. In MINI the Russian Dmitry Matveev (Energy Corse/Energy-TM Racing-Vega) confirmed to be among the main candidates to the title in the smallest category, thanks to three heat-victories that confirmed his competitiveness, despite the absence of some of his direct rivals following some logistic issues due to the Covid-19 situation. The Poles Jan Przyrowsky (AV Racing/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) and Maciej Gladysz (Parolin Racing Kart/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) were among the quickest and claimed one win on Thursday and one on Friday, while the Croatian Mark Kastelic (Team Driver/KR-TM Racing-Vega) and the Dutch René Lammers (Baby race Driver Academy/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) also claimed one win each.
MINI classification after heats: 1. Przyrowsky; 2. Matveev; 3. Lammers; 4. Gladysz; 5. Kastelic; 6. Nakamura; 7. Hideg; 8. Egozi; 9. Helias; 10. Saeter.

The program will continue on Saturday, July 4th with Prefinals and Finals of Round 3 in Live Streaming from www.wskarting.it. Prefinals and Finals of Round 4 will take place on Sunday, July 5th and will also be covered live.

The Program:
Saturday, July 4th (in Live Streaming): Warm-up Rd.3, Prefinals Rd.3 at local 11:50 Finals Rd.3, Prize Ceremony from 14:30.
Sunday, July 5th (in Live Streaming): Warm-up Rd.4, Prefinals Rd.4 at local 11:50 Finals Rd.4, Prize Ceremony of the race and Championship from 14:30.

Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (163)

Theme picker

Theme picker