237 drivers from 40 countries ready for an exciting 30th Andrea Margutti Trophy

Published on Saturday, April 6, 2019

237 drivers from 40 countries ready for an exciting 30th Andrea Margutti Trophy

Lap times have highlighted the speed of the first protagonists of this great International Karting event that is celebrating its 30th edition at the South Garda Karting in Lonato. The charm of edition 30 of the Andrea Margutti Trophy has had its first racing day on Friday, April 5th with 237 verified drivers out of the entered 251 coming from 40 different Countries.

Friday’s qualifying has named the initial protagonists of the event that celebrates this year the 30th anniversary in memory of the late Andrea Margutti, who passed away in 1989. The event has been a swirl of emotions including the forced stop of the multiple-times champion Davide Forè, who is at his comeback to racing with team Taglienti but had to stop KZ2 practice due to a technical problem. The 30th Andrea Margutti Trophy is now going to be quite up-hill for Forè.

The first protagonists came to the fore and inflamed the battle today. In the most powerful category, KZ2 with 67 drivers present, Simone Cunati has been the quickest on CRG-Tm run by team Modena Kart. He was followed by the surprising pairing of Maranello Kart Andrea Ceresoli (quickest in the third session) and Christoph Hold (quickest in the first session). Behind them just for a blink of an eye were Emilien Denner (Sodikart), Cristopher Zani (BRM), William Lanzeni (Vemme), Manuel Cozzaglio (BirelArt), Kristijan Habulin (TB Kart), Jean Nomblot (Sodikart) and Giuseppe Palomba (Croc) that displayed the speed to aim to the win.

The quickest time of OK (21 drivers present) was posted by the Finn Frans Emil Saarijarvi on KR, who led the Austrian David Liwinski (BirelArt) and the Dane Julie Friis (FA Kart). The first of the Italian drivers was Leonardo Bertini Colla on KR of Team Driver Racing Kart.

Qualifying practice of OK-Junior (38 drivers present) has been quite exciting too. The Finn Samuli Mertsalmi (Tony Kart-TM) managed to lead the young Dane Mickey Magnussen (Tony Kart-Vortex) by just over a tenth, while the third time was posted by the Czech driver Jiri Becicka (Exprit-Vortex).

In category 60 Mini, out of the 45 drivers present, the Belgian Ean Eyckmans did not betray expectations and went quickest by a whisker from Abu Dhabi’s Rashid Al Dhaheri to the Swede Joel Bergstrom, all on Parolin.

Edoardo Ludovico Villa was the quickest in X30 Senior (36 drivers present) on TB Kart and proceeded last year’s winner Vittorio Maria Russo of Team Pacitto. The third quickest time was posted by Danny Carenini (CRG), who led an always more competitive Leonardo Caglioni (KR).

The rich program of the 30th Andrea Margutti Trophy is rounded off by the legendary karts of the 90s that contest category KFA. This category has 30 drivers at the start and will face its qualifying on Saturday morning. So far Davide Cattelani has been the quickest in free practice on Tony Kart.

The program of the 30th Andrea Margutti Trophy:

Saturday, April 6th: Qualifying heats.

Sunday, April 7th: Second chance races 10.25; Prefinals from 11.45; Finals from 14.20.

For Live-Timing click here.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (10791)