Dilano Van’t Hoff and Sebastian Ogaard won the second day of competition

Published on Monday, September 20, 2021

Dilano Van’t Hoff and Sebastian Ogaard won the second day of competition

The Dutch MP Motorsport driver won the short race while Ogaard won the second long race of the weekend.

The championship leader took his sixth victory of the season on Sunday at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit in Valencia. After his incident on the first day of the race with Daniel Maciá, where he was relegated to the back of the grid after being forced to make a pit stop to change his front wing, the Dutchman managed to climb to the top of the podium despite crossing the finish line in second place.

A penalty imposed on Daniel Maciá at the end of the race relegated the Spanish Formula of Champions driver to the second step of the podium, allowing Dilano Van’t Hoff to take his first win in a short race this season. Similarly, Vladislav Ryabov, who took the chequered flag in third, was also penalised in the closing stages of the race. This situation allowed Rik Koen, who would have finished fourth, to move up to third place and take his second podium this season.

In the third race, as in the first, it was Sebastian Ogaard’s turn. Although the Danish rider did not win by the ten-second margin with which he took his first victory, this victory gives him his second double this season after the one in Portimao. Van’t Hoff finished second, having battled for much of the race with Ogaard. The championship leader, who again started from pole position, made a mistake at the start and was relegated to eighth position, from where he managed to recover to within a few tenths of a second of Ogaard at the finish line.

Third place in the second race on Sunday went to Filip Jenic. The Serbian Teo Martin Motorsport driver led for most of the race, but an incident with Alejandro Garcia on the main straight brought the safety car out and compacted the field. After having tried to distance himself from his closest pursuers in the opening laps, Jenic’s tyres could not withstand the pressure from Ogaard and Van’t Hoff, who overtook him with seconds to go.

After the third round of the championship Dilano Van’t Hoff remains the leader of the drivers’ and rookies’ championship while MP Motorsport continues to lead the team championship.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (499)