Italian F.4 Championship powered by Abarth: Bearman 2 out of 2. Fornaroli and Bedrin complete the podium

Published on Sunday, July 25, 2021

Italian F.4 Championship powered by Abarth: Bearman 2 out of 2. Fornaroli and Bedrin complete the podium

Seven consecutive victories for the British driver of Van Amersfoort Racing who also won race 2 in front of Leonardo Fornaroli and Nikita Bedrin, first among the rookies.

No one had ever managed  to win 7 consecutive races in the Italian F.4 Championship Powered by Abarth Certified by FIA. In 2019, Dennis Hauger had stopped at 5, but Ollie Bearman also set this new record, winning the second race in Imola and getting 7 consecutive victories in the Italian series.

In the second race at the Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari characterized by the double entrance of the safety car, the British driving for Van Amersfoort Racing led perfectly from the green flag to the chequered one, being able also to correctly manage the two restarts after the safety car. Behind him Leonardo Fornaroli (Iron Lynx) finally got the podium, he was able to manage his race trying also to attack Bearman to get the victory a couple of times. Another double podium for Nikita Bedrin (Van Amersfoort Racing) who scored the third place in the overall standings and the first one among the rookies. The rookie podium was completed by Conrad Laursen (Prema Powerteam) and Pietro Armanni (Iron lynx) for the first time on the podium this season.

The second race in Imola started with Erick Zuniga (Muecke Motorsport) who stalled the start, being passed by the other drivers, while Kirill Smal and Sebastian Montoya lost positions at the Tamburello variant. The fight for the top 10 is close and sees many protagonists who do not want to lose positions, among them Kirill Smal and Francesco Braschi (Jenzer Motorsport) had contact at the Tamburello Variant with Braschi who got out in the first turn of the track. Smal continued his race and returned in 12th position, but the safety car was forced to enter on track. At the restart many overtaking changed the positions, but in the front the standings remained unchanged. Montoya tried to recover ground and overtook Dufeck, who lost positions due to the exit on the gravel at the Rivazza turn. Samir Ben (Jenzer Motorsport) is the protagonist of a spin at the Tamburello, while Jonas Ried (Muecke Motorsport) is forced to stop due to contact with Eron Rexhepi. The safety car is forced to enter again on track and at the restart Smal has problems with his single-seater, finishing wide at Tamburello and spreading panic behind him. The Russian driver of Prema is forced to enter the pits in the final stage of the race.

Bearman won again in front of Fornaroli and Bedrin, while Sebastian Montoya, able to gain ground, finished his race fourth putting behind him Joshua Durksen (Muecke Motorsport) and Bence Valint (Van Amersfoort Racing). Joshua Dufek (Van Amersfoort Racing), the Danish driver Conrad Laursen (Prema Powerteam), Pietro Armanni (Iron Lynx) and the Chinese driver Han Cenyu (Van Amersfoort Racing) complete the top 10.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (494)