Championship and treble-winning for Dilano Van’t Hoff

Published on Monday, October 4, 2021

Championship and treble-winning for Dilano Van’t Hoff

The MP Motorsport driver Dilano Van’t Hoff is proclaimed champion of the Spanish Formula 4 Championship after winning all three races held in Jerez.

Dilano Van’t Hoff has managed, for the first time this season, to win all the races of an event. After his victory yesterday, the Dutch driver added two more wins in the second and third races of the weekend to clinch the driver’s title.

In the second race, again from pole position, Dilano defended his pole position at the start to impose his race pace. Behind him, Vladislav Ryabov, who had reserved his new set of tyres for the second race, put pressure on the championship leader until the safety car came out.

An incident between Filip Jenic and Maksim Arkhangelskii forced the safety car to make an appearance which compacted the field and restarted the race with two minutes to go. However, a new incident would neutralise the race again.

Guilherme Oliveira and Manuel Espirito Santo collided after the safety car had left the track and, as a result, the race ended with 49 seconds remaining under the red flag.

This situation meant that the top three positions remained unchanged in the final moments of the race. Thus, Ryabov and Pepe Martí joined Dilano Van’t Hoff on the podium in second and third position respectively.

In the third race held at the Circuito de Jerez, rain marked the outcome of the race. Due to the humidity that still lingered on the asphalt after the drizzle in the run-up to the race, the riders used wet tyres for the first time this season.

Dilano Van’t Hoff, who again started from pole position, managed to maintain his lead until a mistake caused him to lose control of his car. Quique Bordas then took control of the race, just before the safety car came out.

Miron Pingasov went off the track, leaving the MP Motorsport driver in the gravel, forcing the stewards to use a crane to remove the Russian driver’s car.

Once the safety car retired to the pit lane, Quique Bordas led the restart until, once again, Dilano managed to overtake the Catalan driver. Taking advantage of a different trajectory to that of the Formula Champions driver, Van’t Hoff regained the lead to take his third win of the weekend.

After Quique Bordas and Dilano Van’t Hoff, Pepe Martí crossed the finish line in third position for his second podium this season.


Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (507)